The Men Who Built America

The Men Who Built America

The Men Who Built America

  • Genre: Non-Fiction
  • Release Date: 2012-10-16
  • Episodes: 9
  • iTunes Price: GBP 14.99
  • iTunes HD Price: GBP 19.92
From 4 Ratings


Rockefeller, Vanderbilt, Carnegie, Astor, Ford and Morgan. Their names are part of history and synonymous with the American dream. These men transformed every industry they touched: oil, rail, steel, shipping, automobiles, and finance. Their efforts transformed a country. Rising from poverty, their paths crossed repeatedly as they elected presidents, set economic policies and influenced major events of their day - from the Civil War to The Great Depression. 12 million historical negatives, many made available for the first time by the Library of Congress, are brought to life to offer an unprecedented view of America's Industrial Age – and the men who built it.


Title Time Price
1 A New War Begins 42:59 GBP 1.89 Buy on iTunes
2 Oil Strike 43:47 GBP 1.89 Buy on iTunes
3 A Rivalry Is Born 43:56 GBP 1.89 Buy on iTunes
4 Blood Is Spilled 44:06 GBP 1.89 Buy on iTunes
5 A New Rival Emerges 43:44 GBP 1.89 Buy on iTunes
6 Owning It All 44:04 GBP 1.89 Buy on iTunes
7 Taking the White House 45:42 GBP 1.89 Buy on iTunes
8 The New Machine 42:35 GBP 1.89 Buy on iTunes
9 Season 1: Sneak Peek 01:50 Free Buy on iTunes



  • Repetitive

    By Sunray Minor
    Each individual episode made for television is comprised of irritating sequences that were quite obviously intended to cater for the viewer who had channel-hopped onto the programme. since the start of each sequence summarises what had been explained in the last sequence prior to the slot intended for the commercial break. It spoiled the whole programme.